5 minutes with… Cordelia von Gymnich

VP Consumer Goods and Entertainment, Messe Frankfurt

Describe what you do in less than 20 words.

I give the framework for the team so we can deliver the best trade show possible. 

The best moment in your career?

I believe it is yet to come.

Your best piece of advice to a colleague?

Don’t give up; try again later as times change. 

Your greatest strength?

Pertinacity.

Your favourite event on the OP circuit and why?

Paperworld – because it gives a perfect overview of the market with all the key players attending, even if they are not exhibiting.   

Your favourite office product?

My hold file, as it structures days and times.

What do you think will be the biggest single factor/issue affecting the OP industry over the next five years?

Future generations will learn less handwriting in school and instead have more digital teaching.

What do you like best about the OP industry?

All market players are proud of the history and achievements of the OP industry while at the same time being very down to earth.

What do you like least about it?

Some participants see more problems than opportunities in the OP industry.

Your childhood ambitions?

I wanted to be a diplomat.

Your first car?

A Volkswagen Beetle.

Things that make you angry?

People who don’t listen to others.

If you won the lottery, what would be the first thing you would buy/do?

I would buy a German sports car. An Audi R8 convertible.

If you had to sing at a karaoke next weekend, which song would you choose and why?

There are always too many good songs in my head to choose just one of them. 

The first record you bought?

Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody.

The best book you’ve read in the last 12 months?

It was about the impact of World War II and what it still does to the second and third generations – the children and grandchildren of war.

How would you like to be remembered?

As a cheerful person.

Do you have any famous ancestors/relatives?

My ancestors fought against Napoleon Bonaparte.

If you had one day to live, what would you do?

Gather my family and make music.

Any interesting/unusual hobbies?

I am a singer in a rock band.