Ana Belda



Name: Ana Belda
Job Title: Country manager
Company: Acco Brands Iberia
What were your childhood ambitions? I wanted to be Hawaiian. I watched one of those Elvis films and I thought that it would be wonderful to live in this beautiful, warm place, be dressed in nice coloured clothes; have a handsome boyfriend who sings love songs to me; and, best of all, be able to spend my time dancing!
What was your first full-time job? I worked for three years as an auditor for Bové Montero & Cia, a local firm belonging to HLB International. This job gave me the opportunity to learn a lot about different types of companies in different sectors.
Who was your pin-up as a teenager? John Travolta. I had one big real-size photograph of him in my room, on the wall opposite my bed, so that I could fall asleep getting lost in those blue eyes!
What was your first car? My first car was a Citroen GS that I inherited from my father, beige, with awful blue seats. I hated it at the beginning, but it ended up being a real good friend. We’ve shared quite a few unforgettable adventures together. Its name was "Pepe".
What is your favourite book and why? I do not have a favourite book. I’ve read so many that I loved that I could not pick just one. Each book has its own interest and its own moment. The one I liked most in the last few months has been Un Milagro en Equilibrio by Lucía Echevarría.
What’s the first record you bought? A single from Nino Bravo. I bought it when I was a kid as a present to my dad on Father’s Day. The next one I remember was Grease.
What is your favourite movie and why? Out of Africa. For the feelings, the story, the music, the pictures, the interpretation… for everything! I think it’s a perfect film.
If you could invite two people for dinner, who would they be, and why would you invite them? Probably my little sister Laura and my sister María Elena who died one year before Laura was born. I think it would be great for them to meet each other and for me to enjoy the privilege of having the two of them sitting at my table.
What is your favourite food and drink? I don’t have many issues with food, I like almost everything. Even so, I am crazy about Mediterranean food (Spanish, Italian and Greek), all with a good red wine.
If you could build your house anywhere, where would it be? In Spain or in any other nice place with lots of sun. I am like a plant, I need sun to survive!
What was your biggest mistake in life? I am who I am thanks to the many mistakes I’ve made and learned from. But I don’t think I’ve really made any "big" mistakes (yet).
What makes you happy? My kids.
What makes you angry? My kids.
Which industry figure do you most admire? Probably Eric Bigeard. He’s a great man, and the Lyreco story is really an impressive one.
Describe the OP industry in three words: A surprising world.