托马斯·维特

0
托马斯·维特
软载体
总经理

Thomas Veit 是德国批发商 Soft-Carrier 的所有者兼首席执行官。

背景资料

2021年: 如果说德国软航空公司在过去 20 个月左右的时间里经历了好坏参半的命运,这还算轻描淡写。 尽管受到新冠肺炎 (COVID-19)、封锁、短时工作 (Kurzarbeit) 和大量员工在家办公等因素的影响,这家批发商实际上在 2020 年度过了不错的一年,收入比前一年略有增长。 从各个市场来看,德国与 2019 年相比持平,而法国和瑞士则出现个位数百分比增长。 

令人有些惊讶的是,这种全面的积极表现并不是因为对所有个人防护用品的高度关注。 正如董事总经理 Thomas Veit 承认的那样,卫生纸和清洁材料的销量确实有所上升,但该公司并没有加入个人防护装备的行列。 恰恰相反。 

出于道德原因,并为了反对人们对新冠病毒危机的危言耸听,软承运不仅拒绝加入对新冠病毒产品的争夺,例如检测试剂盒、防护屏障和社交距离标牌,还积极从其产品组合中剔除个人防护用品。 顺便说一句,它也没有参加任何政府资助的休假/短期工作计划。 维特表示,销售额的增长是由于在家上学对学习用品的空前需求以及对艺术和手工艺的巨大兴趣。 

2021 年看起来有些不同。 尤其是今年2020月以来,销量大幅下滑,即使是夏季返校季,下滑趋势也没有得到缓解。 在软承运人的德国市场尤其如此,该市场的不确定性——例如另一波新冠疫情、更多的封锁、供应链问题、不可持续的通胀,以及可能由于政府支持计划而在 XNUMX 年并未真正发生的即将发生的破产——目前占据主导地位。 

对于其他市场来说却并非如此。 法伊特表示,法国的表现一直持平,而非下降,但瑞士却表现活跃。 总体而言,从批发商今年迄今的业绩来看,如果第四季度继续保持同样的势头,他预计整体收入将下降高达 20%,这完全是由于德国的业绩——截至第三季度末,瑞士和法国都再次增长。

Veit 没有被挑战吓倒,仍然保持积极态度,并继续投资 3,000 平方米(30,000 平方英尺)的高科技物流扩建项目,该扩建项目建在现有仓库旁边,以便最终整合所有物流流程。 实际建筑将于今年年底完工,新设施将于 2022 年投入运营。

2019年: 董事总经理 Thomas Veit 表示,对于德国批发商 Soft Carrier 来说,今年又是充满挑战的一年。 由于传统 OP 以及 IT 消耗品(后者是公司最初的重点)的持续下降,批发商已进一步扩展到相邻类别。

目前,其 SKU 总数已达 70,000 个,仅在过去两年就增加了约 10,000 个。 Veit 表示,这种扩张和寻找新客户是其持续成功的核心先决条件之一。

由于德国市场的下滑,整个市场的收入比去年略有下降,约为 60 万欧元(66 万美元)。 与此同时,法国和瑞士的公司表现良好,因为批发概念没有承受太大的压力,而且整合已经在更大程度上发生。

Veit 补充道,ADVEO 德国的消亡并没有让软承运人受益,因为该公司不会进行不可持续的定价谈判和协议。 因此,与一些竞争对手不同的是,它并没有获得相当大比例的客户。

2018年: 董事总经理托马斯·法伊特 (Thomas Veit) 表示,对于德国软运营商来说,今年几乎没有发生根本性变化。 批发商的大部分活动都是整个市场发生的事情的直接结果——由于继任问题以及 Veit 所说的对行业未来普遍昏昏欲睡的态度而导致所有渠道的整合。

考虑到这种清醒的前景,吸引和留住高素质员工变得很困难,这意味着法伊特本人越来越多地参与批发业务的日常运营。

为了抵消传统OP业务的下滑,软载体继续将重点放在新产品类别上,这些产品类别对该公司来说已经取得了广泛成功,但 Veit 承认,它仍然无法弥补该领域的损失。

Soft-Carrier一直是一家非常精简的运营商,其相当多的客户群属于“精通互联网、注重成本”的类别。 与此同时,对于更传统的客户,该批发商最近开始与经销商集团 Büroring 建立更密切的关系。

事实上,对于一家一直坚定独立、在合作方面相对较少发生的公司来说,软运营商正在对合作伙伴关系变得更加开放——这高度表明了市场状况,Veit 说。

解决方案和服务也变得越来越重要,该领域的投资比业务的实际批发物流方面更加丰富。

2017:德国的软承运人目前仍然是其国内市场及其服务的更广泛的欧洲地区中罕见的纯批发商之一。 也就是说,董事总经理 Thomas Veit 敏锐地意识到,市场和行业的发展可能会决定变化,最终将导致更加混合的方法 - 类似于欧洲其他批发运营商所发生的情况。

Veit 承认,市场依然严峻,虽然软承运人在德国、法国、比荷卢经济联盟、奥地利,尤其是不断增长的瑞士业务中取得了良好的业绩,但对于批发界和整个行业来说,2017 年是艰难的一年。

Soft-Carrier 应对挑战的方法是不断扩大可供客户使用的产品范围(现已有 60,000 个 SKU),其中包括设施用品和 DIY 等不断增长的类别,并大大减少了对传统办公用品的重视。 该批发商还拥有非常精益和集中的物流运营,并高度重视其网上商店。

Veit 表示,Soft-Carrier 的核心差异化因素之一仍然是 100% 专注于品牌产品,没有自有品牌系列,这一点永远不会改变。

2016:这是 Soft-Carrier 具有里程碑意义的一年。 这家总部位于德国的批发商于 2016 年庆祝了成立 30 周年,庆祝了在法国开展业务的 20 周年(包括今年在该国实现了令人印象深刻的 XNUMX% 的增长),同时也庆祝了其为德国经销商界推出“品牌店概念”的 XNUMX 周年。

董事总经理 Thomas Veit 表示,该公司在荷兰的新业务(自 2015 年开始运营)的表现也符合预期,同时也为 2017 年进入比利时市场做好了准备。

Veit 未来一年的重点保持不变:进一步扩大产品类别、持续整合/协作、持续数字化以及流程自动化。

他还认为英国脱欧对其运营产生了真正的潜在影响,并预测英国供应商在整个德国贸易中的作用将减弱,特别是在软承运人中。

2015:扩张一直是并且仍然是软运营商游戏的名称。 这家总部位于德国的批发商于 2015 年初进军比荷卢经济联盟,并在那里取得了良好进展,尤其是在荷兰。

董事总经理 Thomas Veit 敏锐地意识到,为了发展公司,进一步扩张是不可避免的,无论是通过收购还是合作伙伴关系,这是 2016 年的核心优先事项之一。

凭借纯网络订购模式,Soft-Carrier 已经拥有高效、低成本的业务,但 Veit 也指出,需要大幅扩展产品,以应对 IT 消耗品和传统办公用品不断减少的需求和收入。

Thomas Veit

0
Thomas Veit
soft-carrier
Managing Director

2021: To say it’s been a mixed bag of fortunes over the past 20 months or so for Germany’s soft-carrier would be an understatement. Despite the onslaught of COVID-19, lockdowns, short-time work (Kurzarbeit) and a mass exodus to homeworking, the wholesaler actually had a good year in 2020, slightly up in revenues from the year before. Broken into its various markets, Germany was flat compared to 2019, while France and Switzerland were up in single digit percentage terms. 

This all-round positive performance, somewhat surprisingly, was not due to a heightened focus on all things PPE. As Managing Director Thomas Veit admits, yes, there was an uptick in sales of toilet rolls and cleaning materials, but the company did not jump on the PPE bandwagon. Quite the opposite. 

For ethical reasons and to make a stand against the perceived scaremongering of the COVID crisis, soft-carrier not only refused to join the scramble for COVID products such as testing kits, protection barriers and social distancing signage, it actively delisted PPE items that it previously had in its portfolio. It also, incidentally, did not take part in any government-funded furlough/short-time work schemes. The increases in sales, says Veit, were due to unprecedented demand for school supplies as a result of homeschooling, and huge interest in arts and crafts. 

2021 looks somewhat different. Particularly as of April this year, sales have been severely down, with even the back-to-school season in the summer offering no respite from the downward trend. This is particularly the case in soft-carrier’s German market where uncertainty – as regards another COVID wave, more lockdowns, supply chain issues, unsustainable inflation and perhaps pending insolvencies that didn’t really happen in 2020 thanks to government support schemes – reigns supreme right now. 

The same cannot be said for its other markets. France has been flat – not down – but Switzerland is buoyant, according to Veit. Overall, judging by the wholesaler’s year-to-date performance, he’s expecting an overall revenue decrease of up to 20% if Q4 continues in the same vein, due entirely to the performance in Germany – both Switzerland and France are growing again as of the end of Q3.

Undeterred by the challenges, Veit remains positive and is ploughing on with his investment in a 3,000 sq m (30,000 sq ft) high-tech logistics expansion which is being built right next to its existing warehouse so that ultimately all logistics processes can be integrated. With the actual building due to be finished by the end of this year, the new facility will become operational in 2022.

2019: It’s been another challenging year at German wholesaler soft-carrier, according to Managing Director Thomas Veit. As a result of continuing declines in traditional OP as well as in IT consumables – the latter being the company’s original focus – the wholesaler has further expanded into adjacent categories.

Its total SKU count now totals 70,000, an increase of about 10,000 over the past two years alone. This expansion and the search for new customers, says Veit, is one of the core prerequisites for its continuing success.

Across its markets, revenues are slightly down from last year at around €60 million ($66 million), due to decreases in the German market. France and Switzerland, meanwhile, are doing well for the company as the wholesale concept is not under as much pressure and consolidation has already happened to a greater extent.

Veit adds that the demise of ADVEO Germany has not benefitted soft-carrier as the company will not enter into pricing negotiations and agreements that are not sustainable. As such  – unlike some of its competitors – it hasn’t picked up a sizeable proportion of customers.

2018: It’s been a year of little fundamental change for Germany’s soft-carrier, according to Managing Director Thomas Veit. Most of the wholesaler’s activities have been a direct result of what’s happening in the market at large – consolidation in all channels due to succession issues as well as what Veit describes as a generally lethargic attitude with regards to the future of the industry.

With that sobering outlook in mind, it’s difficult to attract and retain high-quality staff, meaning that Veit himself is more and more involved in the day-to-day running of the wholesale operation.

In an effort to offset declines in traditional OP, soft-carrier continues to put much focus on new product categories which has been broadly successful for the company although, Veit admits, it still doesn’t compensate for losses in that area.

Soft-carrier has always been a very lean operator, with a considerable amount of its customer base falling into the ‘internet-savvy, cost-conscious’ category. For its more traditional clientele, meanwhile, the wholesaler has recently begun to forge a closer relationship with dealer group Büroring.

Indeed, for a company that has always been staunchly independent with relatively little happening in terms of collaborative efforts, soft-carrier is becoming more open to partnerships – highly indicative of the state of the market, says Veit.

Solutions and services are also becoming more important and investments in this area are becoming more prolific than in the actual wholesale logistics side of the business.

2017: Germany’s soft-carrier remains for now one of the rare pure-play wholesalers in its home market and the wider European regions it serves. That said, Managing Director Thomas Veit is acutely aware that market and industry evolution may dictate changes that will ultimately result in a more hybrid approach – similar to what’s been happening at other wholesale operators across Europe.

The market remains tough, Veit admits, and while soft-carrier posted good results from Germany, France, Benelux, Austria and particularly its growing Switzerland business, 2017 was a difficult year – for the wholesale community and the industry as a whole.

Soft-carrier’s answer to the challenges has been an ever-broadening product range that is available to its customers – 60,000 SKUs now – and which includes growing categories such as facilities supplies and DIY, and a much-reduced emphasis on traditional office supplies. The wholesaler also has a very lean and centralised logistics operation and a strong focus on its web shop.

One of soft-carrier’s core differentiating factors remains its 100% focus on branded products – it has no private label range and that is something that is never going to change, according to Veit.

2016: It’s been a year of milestones at soft-carrier. The Germany-based wholesaler in 2016 celebrated 30 years since its inception, ten years of operating in France – including an impressive 20% growth in the country just this year – and also ten years of its ‘brand shop concept’ for the German dealer community.

It’s new (operational since 2015) business in the Netherlands is also performing in line with expectations, says Managing Director Thomas Veit, while the stage is set for market entry into Belgium in 2017.

Veit’s focus for the year ahead remains the same: further extensive product category expansion, ongoing consolidation/collaboration, and continuing digitisation as well as automation in its processes.

He also sees a real potential impact of Brexit on its operations, predicting a diminished role of British suppliers in the German trade in general and at soft-carrier in particular.

2015: Expansion has been – and continues to be – the name of the game for soft-carrier. The Germany-based wholesaler expanded into Benelux at the beginning of 2015 and has been making good progress there, particularly in the Netherlands.

Managing Director Thomas Veit is keenly aware that, to grow the company, further expansion is inevitable, either through acquisitions or collaborative partnerships and that is one of the core priorities for 2016.

With its web-only ordering model soft-carrier already has a highly efficient, low-cost business, but Veit also points to the need for substantial product expansion in order to counteract the ever diminishing demand for – and revenues from – IT consumables and traditional office supplies.